Book Review - The Ghost of You and Me | Blushing Geek

Book Review – The Ghost of You and Me


The Ghost of You and Me is an emotional story of a girl who lost not just her one true love but her bestfriend. Read this story and I’m sure it will not disappoint. Highly recommended.


The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram

The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram
Published June 20, 2017 by Bluefields
Genre:Young Adult, RomanceContemporary
311 pages
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Buy: Amazon
Add on Goodreads

How do you tell someone who hates you and blames you for the death of his best friend that you miss him?

From the bestselling teen and young adult author of Cinder & Ella comes a new heart-wrenching romance sure to bring all the feels.

The tragic death of Spencer Schott unravels the lives of the two people he loved most—his girlfriend, Bailey, and his best friend, Wes. Secrets and guilt from that fateful night keep both Bailey and Wes from overcoming Spencer’s loss and moving on with their lives.

Now, nearly a year later, both Bailey and Wes are still so broken over what happened that Spencer can’t find peace in the afterlife. In order to put his soul to rest, he’s given one chance to come back and set things right…even if that means setting up his girlfriend with his best friend.

With the emotional resonance of Jellicoe Road and the magical realism of The Lovely Bones, The Ghost of You and Me is a story about overcoming grief, finding redemption for past mistakes, and the healing power of friendship and love. Fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Nicholas Sparks are sure to love this haunting new tale from Kelly Oram.

This is a clean young adult romance stand alone novel that reads like contemporary drama romance and has just a touch of magical realism.

Review

It’s been almost a week since I’ve read this story but the emotions I’ve felt while reading this is still fresh in my memory. I’m used to Kelly Oram’s witty Young Adult Romances but this one is so beautiful yet so heartbreaking. Imagine losing someone you really love at such a young age, and it’s not just that, but you also feel responsible for his death. Tragic eh

Another thing I like about this book is that the author added a little twist to this story making it more unforgettable than her other books. The character development was amazing too and I really enjoyed getting to know them and was also devastated when everything fell apart. I really feel for both the main characters and in what they’ve been through. I’m just so happy that they finally got the happy ending that they both deserved.

Although it may sound cliche, I really find the romance so cute. Well, I’m usually a fan of puppy romances anyway, *wink.

And the ending was really cute and hopeful for the both of them. After what they’ve been through, I can’t think of anything more sweeter than that. Two thumbs up for for this wonderful story.

Favorite Line

Love is as individual as snowflakes. It’s all snow, but when you separate it and break it down, it’s unique. People are different, and you’re going to feel differently about each and every one. You’re going to love them differently. But just because it’s different doesn’t mean it’s not love. It doesn’t make it not real.

Check out my book shelf for book suggestions and recommendations!

BOOK SHELF: ROMANCE

Subscribe To Blushing Geek